Info

My Art Therapy Journey

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is my first sort of art doll.  She started out as a Santos Cage Doll, and I guess she still is, if I had to “classify” her.  I’m not really sure about what the proper terms are for different types of dolls.  I just know I really enjoyed working on/with her.  I have Jennifer Rizzo to thank for the inspiration and tutorial on getting started with doll making and meeting this chicha.  I really admire all the amazing women artists I am finding and meeting (without actually meeting?) on the web!  Thank you for being a part of my journey and being a part in opening up my world!

I feel like I have a companionship with this “doll” who is now more like a friend-like part of me.  I look forward to more art doll friendships in my future.

This girl/woman/doll is saying “Yes” because that’s what she wanted to say! : )  Really, she chose what she wanted to say, not me!  Of course, in the space of working with her I thought I came up with some really great things she could say like, “Begin” or “Can” or “Muse” or “On The Path”, but instead she chose to dialogue with me and answer those propositions with “YES”.  And also, I’m pretty sure she’s saying “Yes” to something higher order I am, perhaps, not in on so much yet.   So thank you!  Thank you for being my Yes Woman!  I shall need you forever by my side.

***

Aesthetic elements are secondary to my purposes when it comes to the creations that appear in my self-directed art therapy undertakings, but I still want to challenge my aesthetic growth.  I’m debating on finding a hair solution for this doll. I am considering leaving her with only the “painted on” hair, but a part of me wants to experiment with maybe some twine hair/wig.  Or maybe a hat or headpiece she might want to wear.  But honestly, earlier today I found this little plastic ballerina figurine and  for some reason the ballerina was really screaming out to me that she wanted to find her dancing home/stage on Yes Girl’s head!

So, Yes Girl is still a work in progress  (much like me!) and I’m not completely satisfied or feeling completion yet with the bottom part of this doll either.  Also, there has been a steep learning curve on this doll, so there are several aspects I want to contemplate and play around with on future art doll projects.  I have a lot of logistics to figure out with doll making and assemblage and such…loving the problem solving aspect a ton!

All said, I know that Yes Girl will help get me through the emotional and practical process of things to come and the long haul of healing!

Of course!  How can she not help.   She’s my answer to everything, right?!  ; )

PS.  I thought I was going to be able to use my new-to-me Dremel today on the YES sign, but resorted to some self-powered tin snips…maybe tomorrow!

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS