Info

My Art Therapy Journey

A whole month since my last post!?  No wonder I feel a little shy.

Life With Light has definitely been active with posts within me, though.  Ever since my last post when I was exasperated with myself that I couldn’t seem to juggle 10 different full-time jobs, pastimes, and volunteer positions at once and be my daughter’s primary caretaker 150% of the time I have been busy working out a way to make my life feel a little more…well, workable!

It finally dawned on me that all the working women artists in the blog-o-sphere are more than likely not creating sellable art  and running a business and cleaning the house and cooking dinner and looking pretty (a.k.a. getting a shower in) and taking care of their child(ren), and staying alive without some help, at least some of the time!

I vow, from here-on-out, to never ever leave the fact that motherhood and artistry co-existing together on an even semi-regular basis does not come without some designated help from somewhere else outside of me.  I believe it should be acknowledged, and in an easily accessible place like the “About Me” or “Bio” section so that every desperate new mother/creative who may find me here creating in the future will not beat themselves up for days, months, or years for not somehow sprouting wings and 15 extra pairs of hands and feet to accomplish it all at once all by themselves.

So…since my last post I set about finding some help.

Starting next month, toward the end of June, I will have one dedicated day a week to be in my  home studio and perform other developmental creative doings while someone is here to watch and help me care for my little one.  I expect these pages will begin to be filled more with my art therapy journey on a more regular basis then.

Until then, I have decided this blog needs a form of CPR.    I’ve taken CPR and passed many-several times, so hopefully this will be a success.  I am a practiced student of CPR, but I just came up with this idea as I was taking my daughter for a walk at our local park and sneaking in some Instagram photos with my iPhone.

I thought, “I know!” (Good start, right!) …  “I know!  I’m certain I can at least commit to taking one photo a day that speaks to something connected to my art therapy   that I can post on Life With Light.”  A daily resuscitation for when I haven’t had the time, space or energy left over from motherhood-ing to create or when whatever I’m working on creatively is not ready to be shared yet.

There is no “Life with Light ” if the Light goes all the way out.

I actually have been very busy, even creatively at times, even with the logistical challenges.    I have made a small sculpture, and I am taking sewing classes (awesomeness times infinity!) which has resulted in the completion of half a stuffed cat so far.  As it goes, I am currently a little (WAY) slow in the completion of these projects!

But Omg!  I didn’t even post about my completed bookshelf yet!  I actually finished it and it has been happily doing it’s job for weeks!  So I’ll be posting about that soon as well.   But that will have to wait for at least tomorrow.

I am going to play catch up (and do a little CPR)  by sharing some images I took while I was on my walk with my daughter today as I was thinking about blog-sharing cpr…accompanied even by a little blues, if you like. Enjoy!

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS