Info

My Art Therapy Journey

There is something about creating that helps me feel complete.   It doesn’t always even matter what form the creation takes. Whether it’s making a meal or cake, assembling together found objects or piecing together fabrics…or turning a bit of what has been a place of darkness  in my life into something with more light.

The thing about creation is that it seems to follow you everywhere.  That’s what is so awesome about being alive.  For me, when I’m able to connect to creation in all its varied forms,  it makes living feel ok.  When I can open my eyes…when I am brave…light is everywhere in my life.

And I’m safe to feel.

***

This weekend I finally was able to complete a shelf I’ve been in the process of making for the last several weeks.  My projects still take 10 times as long as they potentially could due to all the creating I do as a mother. So, when something outside of  my  time creating as a mom is finished it gives me quite a rewarding feeling of accomplishment!

I’ve wanted a shelf for above our bed since we moved into this house.  It’s super simple construction, but simple and clean is what I was going for.  Well, simple and affordable really.  ; )   I had fun making it and I love all the little trips to the hardware store that even the teeniest projects (especially the building/woodworking kind) seem to inspire/require.

I LOVE hardware stores!

Here it is!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By the way, I picked up those metal letters on HUGE sale at Hobby Lobby.  I know they have good sales pretty often, so if you like them and want something similar, or to spell out your own word, I’d check in there and wait around a bit for one to come around!  It’s like Pottery Barn on the a la’ cheap.  So you can make the furniture at home, all the while getting a bonus “creation high,” and pick up the accessories for a fair price!

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS