Info

My Art Therapy Journey

+ high-res version

I am working on “filling the well.”

Maybe I’m not a flower person, but I am very confident in my being as a nature person.  I can’t really even separate nature from art in my little world.  Both seem to make my world a lot bigger (and brighter.)

Nature and art are probably two places and things that can bring out the wholeness in me.  We get along reliably well.

Whether I’m in the middle of nature’s fury or in the stormy midst of creating awkward art…I love it anyway.

It’s been too hot here though, with a baby, to get outside much…and I’ve been on an exercise + heat combo restriction since having my freak hematoma surgery a couple of weeks ago anyway.  But finally, last night enough was enough and I packed up the jogger stroller and got to clipping along as the sun began to rest its weary head.  Then, this morning I high-tailed it out the door as early as possible to miss the mid-day scorch.

I always have my iPhone with me, more to take some photos these days than for safety…which is a nice change of focus.  Not that I’m not always watchful and aware, but I’m more aware of my surroundings with the focus of finding beauty in the adventure rather than staying on the lookout to slay hidden monsters in the woods.

(And if there’s any bad guys reading this who thinks they can hide in the woods and get me now, I’ll still kick your ass…I’ll just have a play-by-play photo sequence to show the cops now.)

But back to filling the well….That’s what I have been up to.

I’ve also been up to painting…so I have an update on my “flower painting” I was asking for a divorce from in my last post. …..We’ve reconciled.

Our relationship is transforming.

If you’re interested in my flower painting reality-show I plan to post pics of the changes sometime this week. Not to give it away, but I think it’s a happy ending/beginning.

**

 

For now I’ll share what  is going into my well from my inspiration hikes…maybe some of these images will show up in future paintings and art…?  Stay tuned! 🙂

 

And now…to make sense of my title…

We  (me and my toddler (who isn’t toddling yet (any day now, she’s 13 months today!) daughter) hit the trail earlier than usual and came along some pretty wonderful trail magic right off the bat.  We weren’t even 3 minutes in when we literally walked right up on a sweet doe having breakfast.  I stayed my distance  at first, but it became clear she was quite secure in herself as she slowly meandered down the path with her little hooves clopping on the asphalt in front of me, ha!  It was magical and a bit disturbing all at once!  I didn’t push my luck because I wasn’t sure if she was so confident she would charge toward us , but she wasn’t foaming at the mouth like Cujo and didn’t have any babies with her or anything so I took a calculated risk and kept my place  for the photo-op.

 

look closely, she’s right in the middle of the paved trail getting ready to enter into the wooded section 🙂

 

 

 

she’s on the left hand side of the trail now, just in the grass…

 

 

 

 

I know it’s possible I might be the only one so excited about shooting a deer.  But I have experienced  various animals  entering into my path in different and sometimes bizarre ways across my life.  It seems like when I am in a period of growth, change, transition or upheaval they  appear in many ways, usually in succession.   Considering I’ve had my fair share of these tumultuous times in my life, the appearance of these animal messengers (as I tend to see them as) has formed a sort of pattern I’ve taken note of.    For what it’s worth, deer have shown up before in this fantastical way in my life, but never in a way that allowed me to “shoot”.

I’m not sure if there’s any relation to the actual size of the animal correlating to the size of power of the message…It seems to not matter what the animal actually is as much as the animal appears and reappears in a serious of happenings and in a way that is sure to capture my attention….and different animals seem to send a different heads-up.

Unfortunately, as I write this it’s 3:00 am and I’m probably not in a great place to explain my thoughts about this in depth, but I can’t really post about the deer without at least some mention so that when this comes up again this concept has already been  introduced.   I have some stories to tell! 🙂

 

**

As I took photos I was looking for instances of repetition, rhythm, texture, form and anything else that generally caught my eye for any reason, consciously or subconsciously.  I wanted to fill the frame with information to inform my other modes of arting (painting, future metalsmithing, ceramics, etc.) and not necessarily with the goal of creating an artistic photo.   But some of them actually turned out being a sort of  therapeutic emotional expression for me in themselves which I never complain about!

 

May the well be filled!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS